Italian Adventure

If I ever move outside of the U.S. for a few years (quite possible actually), I’m going to Italy. The food is fantastic, everyone is tan and beautiful, and everything you say in Italian sounds better than in English. Also, as they are on the brink of economic collapse I’m trying to snatch up some cheap real estate while I can!

The Trevi Fountain. Featured in approximately every movie montage about Rome (i.e. The Lizzie McGuire Movie, Eat Pray Love, When In Rome featuring M&K Olsen).

A view of the bridge connecting to an area in Rome known as Trastevere. It is far less touristy than the main attractions and has some amazing places to eat.

Cool graffiti.

A view of the Colosseum from the second tier aka spying on our fellow tourists.

Fun Fact: the Colosseum has more than 50 entrances and exits. Wow!

Some ancient Roman ruins. That was a quality construction job.

The Duomo in Florence. I was here the same summer as the cast of Jersey Shore. I looked for them, didn’t happen.

A late night in Florence. This might be one of my favorite shots of the trip.

Thank you for this enlightening information.

A lovely view of Florence atop a nearby hill. I had to bike there to get this shot and nearly killed myself and two unsuspecting pedestrians.

Now we arrive in Lucca! This region of Tuscany is one of the best kept secrets in all of Italy.

The picturesque rooftops in Lucca. If I had any artistic capabilities whatsoever I would have definitely attempted to paint this lovely scene.

The beach in Via Reggio or Via Regg as my sisters and I liked to call it (in the voice of Davey Jones “Regional Fairfield” from Boy Meets World circa 1995).

A somewhat stalkerish pic of a real live Italian old man. Hello down there sir!

Fishing boats.

The colorful, clustered houses of Viareggio.

A rock beach (made for some pretty uncomfortable tanning).

A vaporetto in Venice, the quickest and least expensive way to get around.

Venice is a beautiful city.

I wanted to hop into that empty gondola so badly…

One of the many local restaurants with delicious Italian food.

Just heading out for a morning kayak…along the canals of Venice.

A look down yet another canal in Venice.

The natural lighting in Italy made for some wonderful photos.

A love lock attached to the Rialto bridge.

A gondola ride off into the sunset. What a perfect end to the trip…for the family I was photographing.

2 replies »

  1. This is easily some of the best travel blog photography I’ve ever seen. Such vivid colours and excellent processing. Also, your captions were witty and informative. A big thumbs up from me!

What'd you think? We'd love to hear from you!

